The Ten Commandments

Our new group show is now open in our main, ground floor gallery space in central Brighton.  Featuring lots of amazingly, affordable art (95% under £95, with lots under £50) we’ll have our usual fantastic selection of new art from artists both new to Conclave, and some of your favourites.

In this strange, new world of the new normal, we want to get back to basics and get everyone involved in the important things in life: friends, family, real-life experiences, creative community and being able to have your special moment with special things and special people 😀😀

We know that ART is hugely important in all of this, and this is why we’ve (playfully) titled this 10th show “The Ten Commandments”. We hope to see you keeping the faith very soon!

THE 10 COMMANDMENTS
(of affordable art)

  1. Thou shalt have much art before me
  2. Thou shalt not look at gravely bad images (only great ones)
  3. Thou shalt not take the blame for God-awful walls in vain
  4. Remember thy day off, and keep it wholly arty
  5. Honour thy home with art and beautiful things.
  6. Thou shalt not murder thine soul with high street, chain-store generic guff
  7. Thou shalt not commit artworks to a pile of “to be framed”
  8. Thou shalt not give unoriginal presents when art can be had within gift budget
  9. Thou shalt not witness the bad art thine ex left at thy gaff
  10. Thou shalt not covet when thou can afford art from Conclave

Featuring new work from:

 

  • Opening times:
  • Tues-Weds:   12-6
  • Thurs-Sat:   10-6
  • Sun:   11-5
  • Mondays: CLOSED

A.Pozas: Bright Roots in Brighton

A.Pozas is a Spanish artist, now based in Brighton, whose street artworks are well known in the city. His works are often social commentary on the diversity and complexity of identity, using his distinctive sense of humour and aesthetic style.

For his solo show at Conclave Brighton, he presents new, affordable works in a variety of media, but with a focus on his new Alhambra tiles motif – a reflection and musing on the brightness, diversity and possibility within us all, but that which is so often masked and overwhelmed by the constraints (and restraints) of institutional attitudes in today’s world.

 

More information to follow!


OPENING HOURS:
Sat 14th Dec:   10-6
Sun 15th Dec:   11-5
Mon 16th Dec:  CLOSED
Tues 17th Dec:   12-6
Wed 18th Dec: 12-6
Thu 19th Dec: 10-8
Fri 20th Dec: 10-6
Sat 21st Dec: 10-6
Sun 22nd Dec: 11-5
Mon 23rd Dec: 12-6
Tues 24th Dec: 10-4
 

 

See more of A.Pozas’s work here.

Chainsaw & THE GIRL: Music, Subculture & Magick

A Collaboration between
BILLY CHAINSAW and GIRL SH*T

Chainsaw & THE GIRL is a unique collaboration between artists BILLY CHAINSAW & GIRL SH*T: one that explores their shared love of MUSIC, SUBCULTURE & MAGICK, one that will take over the CONCLAVE Brighton basement exhibition space with a very special, week-long installation.

 
BILLY CHAINSAW artist statement: “In my early teens I developed an obsession with American comic books, masks, the movies, magick, and author William S. Burroughs… elements that repeatedly feature in my mixed-media, cut up pop art.
 

THE GIRL (aka GIRL SH*T) artist statement: “GIRL SH*T is informed by a love of subcultures, music, ’zines, gig posters, fashion, art, design and punk feminism.”


OPENING HOURS:
Sat 26th Oct:   10-6
Sun 27th Oct:   11-5
Mon 28th Oct:  CLOSED
Tues 29th Oct:   12-6
Wed 30th Oct: 12-6
Thu 31st Oct: 10-6
Fri 1st Nov: 10-6
Sat 2nd Nov: 10-6
Sun 3rd Nov: 11-5

Please note: This exhibition contains materials and content that may NOT be suitable for children and those under 18 years old.

See more of Chainsaw’s work here.

Works available for sale after the close of the show can be found here.

Barrie J Davies’ Artworld

Barrie J Davies is an Artist!

His artwork is an exotic cocktail of graffiti, street, graphic and pop art. He graduated from the Southampton Institute with a Fine Art degree in 2000 and completed his Master’s Degree at the University of Wales Institute, Cardiff in 2004. He now lives and works in sunny Brighton where he works from his studio in the wonderful Brighton Lanes.

His artwork is inspired by social media, graffiti, consumerism, pop culture and the urban life in which he lives. The materials he uses to make his artwork are a mix of acrylic, household paints, spray paint, glitter, screen printing, markers, and mixed media collages of comic books, digital prints and found objects.

His street-art inspired subversive pop-art works are a fun, colourful psychedelic and humorous approach exposing the human condition: notions of success, money, glamour, love, death, sex, gender and religion are picked at with dry, comedic use of tragedy meshed with absurdity.

His work is in many public and private collections worldwide (and is also owned by Noel Fielding and Norman Cook, aka Fatboy Slim!)

For his solo show at CONCLAVE BRIGHTON (basement space) Barrie will be showcasing a series of affordable paintings, mixed media and print works, and launching of his new limited-edition book “Barrie J Davies is an Artist”. 

More information to follow!

See more of Barrie’s work here.


EXHIBITION OPENING TIMES:

Fri 11 Oct (LAUNCH PARTY)   5-8pm
Sat 12 Oct: 10am-6pm
Sun 13 Oct: 11am-5pm
Mon 14 Oct: CLOSED
Tue 15 Oct: 12-6pm
Wed 16 Oct: 12-6pm
Thu 17 Oct: 10am-6pm
Fri 18 Oct: 10am-6pm
Sat 19 Oct: 10am-6pm
Sun 20 Oct: 11am-5pm